Let me see your hands

What is the condition of your nails? Weird question, I know. But for most of us, this is where we take out our lack of control. Do you find yourself gnawing on your nails or cuticles when you don’t have control of something?

My husband is always encouraging me not to worry. I get a little upset with him when he tells me this because I like to think that I don’t worry. In my mind, worrying means that you don’t trust God enough to let Him deal with things. I don’t want to consider myself as one of those people.

However, if you look at the condition of my cuticles, you will see the telling of the real story. Will we get the house we would like to buy? Is it too far from school? Which couch should we buy? Am I doing a good job raising my children? Will it be hard to pay all the bills this month?

Silly stuff in the scope of eternity. But in the here and now, they are important to me and God knows that. We really have no control over tomorrow nor do we have anything to brag about today. Proverbs 27:1 – “Do not boast about tomorrow for you do not know what a day may bring forth.”

Matthew 6:34 – “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Words of wisdom from Jesus.

So today, princess, try to let go of one thing. And each day after that, let go of one more. Don’t try to go cold turkey, your nails can’t take it. And then, go out and buy some cuticle cream and get those nails headed the right direction.

Leave a Reply

