The seashells

A few weeks ago, my family and I spent the weekend at Marco Island, Florida. One of our favorite things to do when we go the beach is to collect shells. I finally got around to cleaning them today.

As I was cleaning them, it made me think about what I am leaving behind for my family. Once upon a time, there were creatures living in these shells. This was their home. Some are beautiful and spacious and some are small but equally as beautiful.

We found out that a friend of ours who was only 48 passed away this week from cancer. She left behind two school-aged daughters and one grandson. It breaks my heart.

So now, I have two ways to look at this. I can be sad for her family that she has left behind – beautiful and broken. Or I can see this as a graduation. A celebration that she has victory over cancer. She has defeated cancer by going home. Sometimes winning means walking away. Yes, she has left behind loved ones that will remember her fighting spirit but oh, what she has gained – peace.

Paul said in Philippians 1:21 “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” Some days I can grasp the fullness of this verse and other days, not so much. Each day is a choice. Today, I choose to believe that to die is gain.

My challenge for you today is to hug your children a little longer tonight, see the beauty in the seashells and walk humbly with your God.

One thought on “The seashells

Leave a Reply

